Some people believe that all teenagers should have to do unpaid work during their free time in order to help the local community. They think this would benefit the teenagers doing the unpaid work but also society as a whole.

Some people argue that working free of cost for community by youngsters is beneficial not only for themselves, but also for society. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view for reasons stated below. People who are against this concept of young people being engaged in social work argue that such activities are a wastage of precious time of the teenagers. As they are mostly caught up in their educational assignments and course works, dedicating time to charity work will most probably result in inability to concentrate on studies and, hence, poor academic performance. Moreover, they believe that such social activities can easily be performed in adulthood when these assistance skills are actually required in practical life. However, I believe that there a number of reasons why children should be involved in unpaid social work at an early age. Firstly, by engaging in community work such as assisting indigent people in terms of food, clothing and shelter, young people can develop a positive attitude of forgiveness and a sense of gratitude towards the things they already have in their lives which they cannot learn by merely restricting themselves in their own communities. Secondly, act of helping others in poverty, working for rehabilitation, and mitigating environmental rubbish can turn them into responsible citizens and prepare them for real life challenges on becoming adults which is extremely beneficial for society as there is a dire need of such individuals nowadays. In conclusion, although some people may say that community work is a time wastage for young children, I am of the opinion that such social work equips them with necessary skills which are advantageous for themselves and society as well. Therefore, unpaid charity work should be encouraged right from an early childhood.