Some people think that team sports prepare children for work life but others think individual sports are better.

Playing sports in teams is considered by many to be an efficient way of getting children ready for the corporate world, while others believe individual sports are better. Although individual disciplines develop important personal qualities in young people, in my opinion, team games refine their social skills which are more crucial for industry. On the one hand, being an individual athlete requires a child to be self-reliant and have a deep understanding or their own abilities and this is why some people think it is good for developing into a professional at work. In other words, such athletes are focused on themselves so they do not need to cooperate with others. For instance, if a gymnast were to injure themselves during a display, they cannot rely on a substitute, nevertheless, they may, using other strengths, modify the exercise making it safe and still spectacular. On the other hand, it is often believed that team sports are better for future career because they teach children communication skills and how to work effectively with others, and I agree. In my view, what is most crucial in collaboration with subordinates, colleagues and management is the ability to accept people with different views and to come to an agreement. To illustrate, however self-reliant or self-aware an expert is, he or she might not be able to negotiate with partners or clients which could result in companies losing profit. This, in its turn, becomes the reason why a person will not be promoted. In conclusion, although individual sports helps children to act autonomously and gain self-awareness, they do not foster social cooperation In my view, I am deeply convinced that strong social skills nurtured in team games are essential for making a successful career.