Some people think that team sports prepare children for work life but others think individual sports are better.

Playing sports in teams is considered by many to be efficient to get children ready for corporate world, while others disagree. Although individual disciplines develop important personal qualities in youth, in my opinion, team games refine their social skills which are crucial in work environment. On the one hand, some people think that to compete as individual as well as to be a professional at work a person needs to be self-reliant and have a deep understanding of own abilities. In other words, such athletes are focused on themselves so they do not need to cooperate with others. For instance, being injured during the display, a gymnast cannot rely on a substitute, nevertheless, they may, using other strengths, modify the exercise making it safe and still spectacular. However, in my view, these are not ample qualities to thrive at work. On the other hand, it is often believed that team sports teach children communication skills and how to work effectively with others, and I agree. What is the most crucial in collaboration with subordinates, colleagues and management is the ability to accept people with different views and to come to an agreement. To illustrate, whatever independent or self-aware an expert is, he or she might not be able to negotiate with partners or clients which would results in company loosing profit. This, in its turn, becomes the reason why a person will not be promoted. In conclusion, people have opposite views on whether team or individual sports prepare youngsters for work atmosphere better. In my view, I am deeply convinced that strong social skills nurtured in team games are essential for making a successful career.