Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history.

In recent years, many people have developed interest to know more about history and select those subjects in higher education. However, there are some people who opine that learning history is unproductive and useless while others believe that it is essential for students to acknowledge information about the past. This essay will highlight both views in detail and explain why it is beneficial for pupils to study other subjects instead of learning history. To begin with, in this contemporary world, most people focus on other subjects such as science and technology as it provides strong financial security. As individual learning these subjects has more opportunities available to work provided that most companies are predominated by such subjects rather than history related. To cite an example, a recent survey given by the government of India stated that professions such as scientists, IT, engineer easily acquire job facilities and are one of highest recompensed while people studying history, arts find difficulty securing employment and also enumerated very less as compared to other subjects. So, because of this reason people propound that learning history is worthless. On the other hand, there are people who believe that studying history aids in obtaining details about ancient roots and values. This way people become enlightened not to repeat mistakes happened in the past and also values the achievements of leaders and martyrs, which helps in developing a sense of responsibility in them. For example, my neighbour has immense knowledge about the past as he completed his masters in history and always conducts programs annually to inform people about the ancient values and customs. He shares different ideas to various people and has gained significant impact on many people. So, learning history helps in developing sensible people in the society. In my opinion, it is good enough to study history during spare time and be knowledgeable about the past, but choosing a career in this subject or field is valueless. So, people should have a broad vision and study subjects that provides various opportunities in the future.