Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

With the escalating population, crime rates are also mounting signs. Some people opine that specific criminals should be allowed to perform community work without any reward rather than anticipating a custodial sentence. This essay will highlight why the parallel idea might help in some extend but not for all cases. To begin with, some life and death crimes made by the criminals must be punished heavily to prevent reiterating those misdeeds. Offences such as murders, kidnapping, hijacking are pretty serious and such criminals must be put behind bars or provide capital punishment as only penalizing by performing no payment community services can be too soft for them and might repeat time and again. For example, the constitution of Nepal has introduced to provide either lifelong imprisonment or hang till death to the lawbreaker committing a critical felony which resulted in abating illegal act rates. On the other hand, petty crimes such as shoplifting, pickpocketing should be given community services without recompense as punishment because this supports the development of the community. As no extra workers are required and no payment to be given so that the money gained from such could be utilized to develop some other factor within the society such as schools, healthcare centres, recreational centres, etc. To cite an example, this rule was followed by laws of Nepal recently and funds collected from such was deployed in building healthcare centre and health issues has reduced remarkably. Personally speaking offences not too consequential can be made to execute community work without reward, but crucial misdeeds should be punished accordingly. Laws should be implemented in such way, no criminal should ever acknowledge to iterate any crimes be it simple or complicated ones.