Some people think that sports involving violence, such as boxing and martial art should be banned from TV as well as from international sporting competitions.

There is an issue about the broadcast of violent sports contests. Some social workers think that they have negative effect on society and suggest restricting their coverage on television. This essay disagrees with their opinion. Let us start with reasons why some social workers argue that the state authorities should prohibit atrocious contests from broadcasting. The first reason is that it can make children behave aggressively. Immature minds are usually susceptible to the idea of dominating among peers, so once they see how MMA fighters beat one another ruthlessly, they may start to abuse others in the same way. Another reason is that it may cause international conflicts. Two different nations are likely to attack each other, when, for example, one boxer wins the other in the final. Furthermore, many sports competitions may lose a large audience. Sport events, which promote violent contests, may experience a rating fall, since people, who are intolerant to any signs of brutality, stop watching such events. However, some sports commentators claim that the government should allow such sport events on TV. They justify their point of view by the following arguments. Firstly, violence is part of human nature. People tend to conduct aggressively towards other people, so competitions, involving violence, have little influence on the mood of TV spectators. Secondly, children can find martial arts appealing. Many children quit bad habits, such as smoking, and enroll for boxing, once they watch international boxing contests on television. Moreover, many athletes can gain fame and wealth. Many boxers, for instance, become rich as well as famous, when tv channels broadcast them in championships, which compel a great number of viewers. In conclusion, although some social workers state that the government should forbid brutal sports on TV screens, I think that the matter of choice whether to watch such sports should be individual.