Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete while other believe that children learn teamwork

Many people argue that children should be more competitive, while others think that learning teamwork would contribute to their development. In my opinion, I believe that both competitive and teamwork are encouraged to children when they come to sport. There are good reasons why sport enables children to understand how to compete. Firstly, when young people start competing with others, they push the body’s physical limit in order to surpass competitors. For example, some professional swimmers have to spend long hours to do the workout every day if they want to be a person who breaks the Olympic records. Secondly, to be successful in sport, children need to be handle negative emotions such as control nerves and overcome fear. For example, in some strategy games like chess or go, players usually take a deep breath in middle game that not only improve thinking ability but also deal with time pressure. Alongside the influence of winning in sport, children also learn about teamwork. First, one of the key benefits of teamwork is cooperation. Working as a team teaches one to keep personal differences aside, and focus on the team success. For instance, in football match, the kids who play goalkeeper should be encouraged as this position most often forgotten and neglected. Another advantage of teamwork is that is provides the players an opportunity to socialize and build relations, as they come together with a common interest and love for the sport. Being a part of a team helps players overcome their shyness, as they are forced to interact with other teammates, some of whom they might have never met or spoken to, before. In fact, bonding between teammates is the key, as it indicates how successful the team would prove to be. In conclusion, I believe that sports are not only bring competitive spirit but also improve teamwork ability for children.