A poor infrastructure hinders under developed countries from progressing and modernizing Some people think that this should be the first problem tackled by foreign aid

It is true that some people argue that infrastructure in under-developed countries should be the top of investment priorities by international aid. Because there are a variety of economic and social advantages, I completely agree with this point. Firstly, infrastructure advancement is considered to be the key factor of economic development. Transport infrastructure such as roads and railways provide better way to deliver goods and reducing costs of transportation. For example, building of railways will benefit agriculture as the farmers are able to sell their products in towns where they are far away from. In addition, infrastructure also creates opportunities to build businesses, and to attract local and foreign investment and partnerships. Because of the lack of money, small companies rely on general facilities to build up. Secondly, I believe that investment in infrastructure can raise people’s living standards in those countries. Lack of adequate infrastructure not only holds lack economic development, it also cause additional costs in terms of time, effort and money of the people for accessing essential social service such as healthcare and education. Besides, by improving street lighting and CCTV cameras, the number of crimes also decrease. For example, the likelihood of finding people all alone in street or in their house might attract killers or robbers. In conclusion, I agree that the beneficial effects of improved infrastructure largely contributes to economic and social development.