1. Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture, they should adapt to the local practices and customs.

Many people argue that foreigners should adapt to the local customs and traditions when they come to travel in a different culture. I completely agree with this view. Newcomers will certainly face difficulties if they do not conform to the norms of social behavior in the host country. Firstly, there are some limitations on experiencing new culture when visitors do not follow the traditions and customs of the host. For example, in Thailand, if tourists want to visit temples, they have to wear the strict dress code. Especially, women must wear long skirts or long pants to cover up their knees, shoulders should be kept covered and no see-through clothes. Secondly, traveler might fall foul of the law if they do not respect the behavior and customs of locals. In Singapore, for instance, residents will consider newcomers dirty and ill-mannered if they litter the street and spit gum in public places. There are also many benefits for foreigners when they do adopt the customs and traditions of their new country of residence. One advantage is that local people will be more welcoming when they feel that the newcomers are showing respect for the local way of life. The establishment of closer links with the host community might lead to mutual understanding and strong support when troubles come. Another benefit is the richness of the experience which newcomers will gain from enjoying aspects of local customs and traditions, enabling them to participate in community life. For example, in Tet Nguyen Dan, foreign visitors can join Tet’s activities such as setting off firecrackers, going to pagodas to wish the best wishes. In conclusion, I would argue that this is essential for foreigners to follow the traditions and habits of locals in the host community in order to integrate fully into new culture.