Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resource while others think that it is essential for mankind to continue to explore the universe in which we live.

Some people argue that exploring space involves too much investment and time, while others think it is required for survival of human existence. In this essay, I will discuss both views and express my opinion. Space research requires huge amounts of money which instead could be invested for the basic needs of the people. Food, clothing and shelter form the primary needs of the mankind and these should take precedence before any other development. For example, in the USA, 50 percent of the government savings are spent on the NASA agency, a portion of which could have been used to help certain poor areas in the New York city. Therefore, it is important to satisfy the primitive needs before spending money on exploration of universe. Developed countries should help the poor countries to build these amenities instead of spending on space. On the other hand, it also seems important to research the planets and the universe. If we had not done enough research on space, we would not have found about the ozone depletion for instance, and annual rise in earth’s temperature. Because of this exploration, we had the opportunity to learn more about the planet we live in, and develop a plan to safeguard the Earth from unexpected disasters. Also, space research has helped us to understand the nature and the precautions we should take for natural calamities. Space research would be very important for the future in order to look for a planet suitable for human existence to dwell, in case of Earth's destruction due to extreme polution and global warming. To conclude, even though space exploration provides significant knowledge about our planet and the universe, I think we should initially spend on delivering basic needs of the people. Once adequate funds are allocated for this, we can then look into space research and explore more about the galaxies.