It is generally accepted that families are not as close as they used to be. Give reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families could be brought closer together.

In many countries these days, families no longer have close relationships. This is because of the increase in the number of parents who work full-time and the rise in the use of mobile devices and internet. Solutions to this negative trend would be propose. Firstly, an important reason for the decrease in close family relationships is the increase in the number of parents who are employed full-time. In other words, many husbands and wives today are employed and have little time to interact with themselves and take care of their children. For example, many married couples in Nigeria work between eight to ten hours daily which limits the quality time needed to spend with themselves and interact with their children. As a result, many families are no longer close compared to few years ago. Furthermore, the increase in the dependency on mobile devices and internets by parents as well as a parents interfere with family relationship. It is common to see members of a family preoccupied with their phones which limits the time needed to discuss as a family. For instance, many families rarely have dinners together today because members of the household are often busy with their phones and online friends rather than being brought together. This situation could have improved if families reduce the time spent on mobile devices and on internet. fortunately, ther are two promising solutions to this problem. One significant way to bring family closer is to increase the time off work for married couples. Both the government and private employers should promote part-time work for at least one of the parents and increase the duration of holidays such as paternity and maternity leaves. This will offer husbands and wives more time for themselves and to care for their children. More so, efforts towards reducing the use of mobile electronic device and the internets at home should be promoted. This could be through setting up time limits on the use of phones at home. As a result, there would be more time to bring families together. In conclusion, parents spend more time working and they as well as their children are becoming dependent on their phones and the internet which has interfered with family relationships. This problem could be solve by ensuring parents have more time off work and reducing the use of telecommunication devices and the internet at home.