Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resources while others think that it is essential for mankind to continue to explore the universe in which we live

Modern humanity aims to explore everything that surrounds us. Due to up-to-date technology and scientific discoveries, mankind has a great opportunity to investigate the boundless space. However, the controversial question appears: do people, in fact, need space exploration rather than resolving actual “Earth problems”? While there are some good arguments in favour of maintaining researching far universe, I believe the resources and efforts should be sent, first of all, to solve crucial problems on our home planet. Space exploration, obviously, is one of the major concerns nowadays. Moreover, the projects in this area has already shown some valuable insights for humanity. The challenge of ovepopulation and resources depletions is the general concern of scientists. Searching new planets (which are suitable for people’s life or which are abundant in essential resources) is what modern space science dealing with. In addition, by discovering the universe, scientists may explore new forms of life. They might be beneficial for mankind for some yet unpredicatable reasons. As it is usually shown in films, aliens can give people some tips on how to improve our being. That is why space exploration is worth continuing. However, there are some faults with this reasoning. To begin with, meeting with inhabitants of unknown planets is impossible to predict. It may cause irreversible consequences for Earth: people never know what is in their minds. To add, the existence of aliens is a disputable concern: there are no scientific justifications in fabour of it. This way, people waste financial resources on what possibly even never exists. Finally, there is no one space discovery yet that could be an advantage in crucial mankind challenges such as pollution, poverty, obesity and so on. Personally, I view space exploration in not an urgent case for Earth. Did you know that World Ocean has been explored by around 5% yet? It seems to be strange that mankind strives to subdue the universe while there are still so many unexplored points. Maybe sooner or later people can find all answers to their questions by studying their home planet? To conclude, space exploration might be considered as a source of getting knowledge about other planets and of finding solutions to the world challenges. However, I feel such unpredictable discoveries may result in troublesome consequences. In my opinion, our planet still needs deep studying, therefore, the resources are better to spend on it rather than on unattainable space.