Some people think that shops should not be allowed to sell food or drinks that are scientifically proven to be bad for people's health.

An often debated topic is whether the sales of unhealthy food and beverages should be banned at shops and stores. Personally, I disagree with this opinion for a number of reasons. Firstly, imposing a ban on selling unhealthy drinks may result in the sales of these products moving to the black market and subsequently a rise in crime figures. There are those who cannot overcome their craving for alcohol, for example, and they will search for any means available to access wine and beer. This reaction can be seen in the illegal trade of heroin in Vietnam. Secondly, making any laws against the public sale of foods that are potentially harmful to health would limit the options that consumers have. For instance, many people opt for fast food instead of cooking meals to save time for work. It would be difficult for them to seek another alternative to their daily meals if shops are prohibited from selling fast food. While this topic is still open to debate, I believe that other measures to improve the level of public health should be considered. The simplest action is that the government should continue campaigns to raise public awareness of healthy choices rather than trying to ban shops from selling unhealthy items. Another remedy is that a higher tax rate can be instituted on foods and beverages that are bad for people’s health. This may increase the price of these products, which may deter people from excessive individual consumption. In conclusion, I do not believe that the government should ban shops from selling unhealthy foods and drinks due to potential problems and the availability of better alternatives mentioned above.