Some people say that when deciding how taxes should be spent, governments should prioritise health care. Other people believe that there are more important priorities for taxpayers' money.

Administrations around the world have a range of financial responsibilities. Health care is an important government service that requires high levels of funding. While some members of the community feel that health care services are the top priority for government funding, others believe that governments should be prioritizing education. Health care services play a critical role in the general wellbeing of our communities. At some point in our lives, we will all require professional medical assistance. In particular, children and the elderly are the demographic groups that tend to need more access to health care facilities. Unfortunately, the young are often least able to take care of themselves. They need assistance to deal with the range of health issues that might confront them in their lives. Governments are charged with this responsibility, and must devote significant financial resources to the provision of medical services. However, providing health care for the public is an expensive undertaking, and some people contend that these funds should be devoted to other public services. One argument suggests that the health of an individual is the responsibility of that individual. People that refuse to take good care of their own health should not be given the support of a government funded health care system. The argument holds that it is better to prioritize the funding of education than to give money to people that have chosen to live unhealthy lifestyles. To conclude, the prioritizing of funding for public services is a difficult task. Both education and health care are important priorities for the administrators of all countries. Perhaps a good compromise would be more government funding for public education on health care issues.