Some people think that reducing income inequality is critical to ensuring a happier society.

It is argued by some people that the society will be happier if income inequality is eradicated to a large extent. I completely agree with this opinion for the following reasons. To begin with, people with financial concerns remain constantly stressed. This takes a toll on both their physical and mental health. If they have a decent income, thus fewer worries for the future, they will eventually turn out to be happier overall. In India, for example, the poor make up the vast majority of the population. This means that over a billion people are subject to negative thoughts most of the time. With a few more dollars a day, all these people could cherish. In addition, criminal acts are much more common in impoverished areas. Most people revert to crime when they cannot maintain their lives in a normal way. For example, in Latin America, due to poverty, most males are recruited by drug lords or the mafia. This becomes the only option for most to survive. All this trouble would be prevented if they had better opportunities. We all need hope for the future. This is easier if we do not have money issues. Finally, all human beings need a purpose to live happily. We feel important when we work for a goal. This can range from buying a car to having a holiday in Bahamas. But, rich members of society have no such obstacles. They do not have to wait or struggle to realize such dreams. They can just get what they want. After a while, this may result in an emotional void. We all need some kind of a fight to feel important. For most, happiness is not about the reward, but about the process. In conclusion, I believe that eradicating income inequality would be beneficial for all people. This way, the poor will be able to raise their living standards, while the rich will experience the satisfaction of fighting for a goal.