Some people think that radio has become out-of-date, and there is no need to listen to the radio for entertainment and news.

In the digital revolution, there is a perception that radio industry will be at stake of extinction in the near future if it does not undergo any significant change. From my perspective, I advocate that radio still serves as a beneficial means of entertainment to a variety of audiences. One of the main reasons why radio would not become obsolete is radio acts as an entertaining tool in the car, where drivers are able to enjoy their own favourite music or update congestion via radio while driving is an effective means of taking full advantage of their time. Traffic Update Radio Stations, for instance, keep you informed about upcoming traffic speed information, guide you avoid a traffic jam, and consult the progress of other commuter on the road to see if the congestion is clearing ahead or if the best strategy is to leave the highway. As more and more people become accustomed to the traffic report, the need for radio to up its traffic game has never been greater. It is irrefutable that modern technological tools have several obvious benefits. However, when access to the internet is blocked and phone lines are cut, people can still search the airwaves for trustworthy sources. Even electricity is not a necessity for battery operated and hand-cranked radios. According to UNESCO’s statistics on radio’s impact in Africa, more than two third African said they get news and information from the radio, making it the leader of both media and non‐media sources. Radio broadcasting is said to be the most reliable and affordable medium of exchanging information and knowledge in many communities where access to electricity, internet, and television is not all possible. In conclusion, advances in technology may have led to the emergence of a broad range of media platforms, but it has also made the radio more accessible for populations that lack access to other means of information technology, which is why it is still very much relevant today.