Some people think that public health within a country can be improved by government making laws regarding nutritious food. Others, however, think that health is a matter of personal choice and responsibility.

Staying healthy is strongly linked to eating nutritious food, which depends upon making correct food choices. Many people hold the opinion that the government should be liable for the implementation of laws regarding the supply of healthy food, while others claim that it's an individual's preference to eat healthy or unhealthy food. This essay will discuss both ideas in detail and will highlight why individuals should decide whether they want to adopt healthy dietary habits or not. Many people believe that the responsibility of sustaining public health lands on the shoulders of the government, mainly because the government has the power to control the excessive use of food that is harmful to its consumers. For instance, the government can put high taxes on the sales of carbonated drinks, tobacco, or other junk items; it would ultimately reduce the consumption of these elements. It would also provide an additional advantage of cutting down of public health costs. However, limiting the availability of food variety would imbibe a feeling of freedom restriction in the citizens, which would lead to resentment and protest among the nationals of a country. Secondly, it would affect the economy of the major industries supplying these junk items. As a consequence, the overall economy of the country would be in question. A better option, to encourage local people toward healthy food, would be to mount awareness programs regarding appropriate food selection and the dangerous effects of consuming an unhealthy meal. To conclude, although the government can make laws and put taxes to improve the dietary habits of its citizens, a healthy population and reduction of health funds are not the only outcomes of it. It could lead to unfavorable social impact and maybe an overall loss of the economic state of a country. Hence, in my opinion, the choice of eating healthy stuff should be left up to well-informed individuals.