In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Shopping trends have seen a drastic change over the past few years. Nowadays, a number of people prefer going to shopping malls rather than small outlets in the nearby areas. This shift in the purchasing preference of people has many benefits along with some drawbacks. This essay will discuss the potential advantages and disadvantages of the change. With more and more shopping centers being built, cities’ economy have seen tremendous improvement. These marts have not only brought a change in the infrastructure but also the standard of living of the locals. Roads near the malls have been reconstructed for people to reach the destination without any turbulence. Moreover, people get to choose from a variety of products and also branded clothes all available at a single place. Besides the aforesaid, huge shopping malls is a reason for poverty. Due to the transfer of customers to the malls, majority of local shops have faced decline in the sales because of which many shops have been shut down. In addition, there has been a rise in unemployment in the cities. To illustrate, according to a survey, around 20% of the local market stores earlier occupied are now available for sale and unemployment has grown by 35 percent. To conclude, with the growth in infrastructure like roads and purchasing power of people, malls have raised the level of poverty by elevating unemployment in the cities. The situation can be balanced by educating the local shop owners which will help them in bringing innovative ideas for their proprietorship as well as they would be able to apply for skilled jobs if needed.