Nowadays more and more business meetings and business trainings are taking place online. Does the advantage of this development outweigh disadvantage.

In today’s corporate world an increasing number of companies and organizations are scheduling & conducting their meetings and trainings though online platform. The prime advantage of this latest development is that it helps companies to curtail its expenditure and the disadvantage can be in form of protest by company personnel against the quick decisions taken through such virtual meetings and the advantage clearly triumph over disadvantage. On the one hand, conducting virtual meetings and trainings enables organizations to save on travelling and other related expenses. With the technological development, official meetings and training and developments no more requires physical presences thereby helping companies achieve their cost control measures. These funds can be utilized by business houses to promote themselves and advertise its products and services and this will eventually help in increasing company’s revenues and profits. For instance, a recent survey by economic times states that over 50% of CEOs now prefer meetings though video conferencing. Therefore, online meetings and trainings are proving to be advantageous for organizations. On the other hand, virtual meetings and trainings lacks physical interactions. In other words, such meetings sometimes results in lack of co-ordination wherein there may be an instance when one or more board members or key managerial personnel may not be available in case of any urgent meeting any they may later protest against the decisions taken these meetings. To quote an instance, one of the independent directors of a leading real estate firm openly revolted against one of the company’s decision since he was not the part of original decision making team. Hence, at time virtual meetings can be disadvantageous for the organization. To conclude, although lack of physical presence may be a disadvantage in virtual meetings, however, the advantage of cost savings achieved due to online meetings and trainings far outweighs the disadvantage.