Some people think that professional athletes make good role models for young people, while others believe they don’t.

It has been observed that children of young age, look up to professional athletes as their role model. Some people believe that this is really good for the young people, whereas, other people believe that there are better role models for the kids, as compared to athletes. This essay will discuss why role models like professional athletes teach children about discipline, but, they also influence people towards sports that have fame attached to them. To start with, role model such as professional athlete drive young people towards sports that have fame. For example, in India, since cricket has the biggest fan following, hence it has a lot of fame and glamour attached to the sport. This results in the kid getting inspired by the media image of the profession and concentrates lesser on the training aspect of the sport. Hence, this results in the young kids learning nothing out of their role models. But, at the same time, professional athletes teach children about discipline. For example, a lot of youngsters read about the discipline that was maintained by the athlete during the initial years. This helps in encouraging younger people to be more disciplined with the sport, which actually helps in developing the quality in their personal life as well. Hence, role models such as professional athletes to help kids to develop discipline, which helps them with their life. To sum up, young people no doubt are attacted by the fame of professional athletes, which makes them blind towards the rigour required to achieve the position of a professional athlete in a sport, but, idealizing professional athlete helps in developing discipline in the kids, which is a very important skill in life. Hence, in my opinion, it can be agreed that professional athletes are great role models for young people.