Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. with the above statement?

Most people agree that there are worldwide traffic and pollution problems that need to be solved. Some people think that a potential solution to these problems is raising the price of petrol. In my opinion, while this may temporarily solve these issues, such a price increase would have many side effects and thus other solutions would be much more desirable. Increasing the price of petrol by a large amount would likely help the aforementioned problems because a higher price would lower the demand for petrol. However, this would create a price shock with many undesirable side effects. For example, the price of everyday goods would increase because companies rely on the shipping industry to transport them to the marketplace. If petrol prices went up, shipping costs would go up simultaneously. This would make everything more expensive. Businesses would lose either customers who were unwilling to buy goods at the higher price, or would need to reduce their profit margins. This could have a ripple effect on the global economy and even send it into a depression. Instead of increasing the price of petrol, the best alternative measures are focusing on technologies that can reduce the need for transportation. With further improvements in communications technology, people would be able to work more effectively from home. This would lessen the use of automobiles for everyday required transportation as well as the pollution and traffic congestion resulting from it. In addition, investing in renewable energy technology could help us to improve transportation systems in a way that has a weaker environmental impact. Improvements in electric cars, for example, would be a better long-term solution than simply increasing the price of petrol. Overall, while the growing traffic and pollution problems are certainly note-worthy and we should do our best to combat them, I believe that focusing on alternative measures like communication technology and renewable energy technology will certainly be more effective in the long run.