All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school. How far do you agree with this proposal? how important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

It is widely believed that the youth should be exposed to and taught a second language at the beginning of their educational life. I am of the strong belief that this is a necessary part of brain development and that in today’s multicultural world, youngsters need to be more exposed to other cultures through language, among other things. Let us examine some reasons why young students should have the chance to become bilingual. Firstly, children’s brains are like sponges and are still developing. To explain, this is a crucial time to exercise the brain and awaken certain areas while it’s so active and receptive. By starting to learn a new tongue whilst simultaneously mastering their own, they could surely align the two and install long term memory patterns which will last into later life. Let us turn to some reasons why it is crucial for a youngster to become versed in a second tongue. To begin, today’s world is becoming much smaller and communication and a sense of community are vital ways of maintaining a peaceful existence. Furthermore, in order for children to get a better understanding of the world, they need to be educated about different cultures. To illustrate, by learning languages, today’s youth will not only be able to communicate but they will be able to relate through understanding in an open environment. To sum up, being educated about language and culture from the beginning of school is a necessary part of all children’s learning experience. Young brains need to be stimulated in order to develop healthily for later life. It’s also important to provide the youth with the best opportunity to be informed and open minded in today’s cosmopolitan society.