Some people think that prison sentences should not be used in dealing with criminals. Education and job training should be used instead.

Crime is a perceived as a threat to the development of any country and its citizens. As long as a prison punishment is prevalent, people will feel safe and secured. It is disagreed that education and job training should be used instead of it. Analysing the seriousness of a trail which is indirectly proportional to its repetition in the future & fear of conducting a crime will prove this. The first reason is the severity of a punishment that gets inscribed in the mind of a criminal. Although, loss of valuable time and exclusion from loved ones may be daunting to some however, it is a price that they have to pay. For instance the monotonous tasks at a cell might be frustrating and may put someone into a reflection of his/her deeds. Thus, these sentences are fair since it is in tandem to the crime committed. Another plausible explanation is that the fear that comes before committing such a gory act. Would anyone be fearful if the penance is not stern? If it is not draconian the suspect can engage into any hideous crime. To highlight, if multiple years of sentence are not granted to they who commit horrendous acts of rape, it will be a repetitive action. Therefore, a simple educational assignment or skill training will not at all be sufficient to curb crime from a city. In conclusion, though human rights activists in the past have been rebellious on the theme of making someone suffer, lately owing to the growth in crime, abiding to the thought became necessary. The severity of punishment and the worry of the repercussion is surely a reason why I strongly believe that education and job trainings are not tangential to providing a jail sentence.