Some people think that prison sentences should not be used in dealing with criminals. Education and job training should be used instead.

Imprisonment is a hotly-debated topic which often divides the opinion. A loin' s share of society favors it, however rest go averse it. The following paragraph would shed some light on my personal prospective with an apt example. I do not see eye to eye with the central idea, to begin with punishment there should be strict laws for any crime be it a minor one or big. Thankfully our judiciary system does have them in place. Now comes the type of crime, some crimes are actually too brutal that in such cases court has to take strict action, and give the offender an appropriate punishment. For instance, if a person has murdered his whole family after the months of planning for money or property. The family which had provided him premium education and he was already in a reputed job. In such cases, person is not committing crime because he is not educated or he has less knowledge about anything this is beyond humanity and shall be treated strictly. Secondly, another factor which should be considered closely is motive and intentions. Although a crime is committed by a juvenile, which will be considered as a young child. But if his intentions and motive is very clear, and he has not done that crime under any influence and was a planned activity. Then I believe it should not be counted as a special case and instead of giving him education and job training strict imprisonment shall be granted. As this kind of kid could be a threat to other prisoners as well those who are better and can improve themselves shall interact with him. Lastly, mental health is another point which should be taken in count. Suppose a crime is done by a person who is not mentally sound then we can treat that case with leniency but otherwise the offender should be given imprisonment as per the law without any mercy. Taking everything into consideration, my personal view points on punishment are there should be strict laws and rules for criminals, specially those are the threat to our society. Providing them education and training cannot help alone. Keeping subjectivity in mind we cannot say that one solution fits all.