In order for many young people to contribute to our society, it is worthwhile to make university/college students do colunteer work in order to give credits which are necessary for their degrees.

Schools today more and more encourage their students to work voluntary in their community to know the society they belong to. However, I do not disagree that universities make their students to do volunteer works to give them credits to obtain their degree. To begin with, giving students credit by doing volunteer works is not considered as voluntary spirit. Charity works should be done with their own will, not to gain something they want in return. Although I concede that the community can get better with the intervention of young people's aids, the issue is that the genuine benevolent spirit. Another concern is that university students might become lazy for their academic performance due to the credits that they can get relatively easier by providing their volunteer works in the society. Even though I acknowledge that supporters of children who engage with the service to get credits think that it can be a valuable experience for youngsters as well by knowing their community they live in, I agree that it can be unethical to help vulnerable people for their own sake, such as either good grades or credits they need to graduate. In short, although volunteer works from young people can be benefit both themselves and the society, I strongly believe that charity work should be performed with the simple voluntary spirits. Therefore, I think schools should not make children work for credits which are necessary for their degrees.