Some people think that poverty is the reason behind most crimes.

An increased crime rate in both the developing and the developed countries raises a question about the underlying causes. It is often thought by many that the destitution is the driving force, while others do not agree. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the former viewpoint, and I will discuss, in this essay, two main reasons to support my opinion. Firstly, it is worth mentioning that many persons accused of criminal activities have a strong financial background. Their involvement in these civil and criminal cases indicates that even wealthy persons can be a part of a crime. As a matter of fact, most of the huge frauds in history are executed by financially stable individuals. For example, the ex-prime minister of Pakistan, a renowned businessman, was removed from the public office because he was found guilty of a million dollars fraud. This conclusively demonstrates that even rich people are doing illegitimate practices. Secondly, the opportunity to commit a crime and dishonesty are contributing factors for criminal activities. In other words, when there is an opportunity to commit a crime, the chances of its occurrence will be high. However, opportunity does not work in isolation because only a dishonest person will take advantage of that opportunity. Many people do not perpetuate an illegal activity until they see an absolute opportunity and safe passage. For instance, many burglars say that they committed the crime because the house owners gave them an open opportunity. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinion; I think, poverty is not a primary reason for criminal behavior. For a crime to happen, a dishonest person would require an opportunity, and moreover, that person does not need to be in need of cash.