In order to solve traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such solution.

Problems related to traffic are one of the most common issues in many countries. It is often argued that to resolve such problems, the government should impose heavy taxes on the private car owners and utilise the collected funds for upgrading public transportation. Imposing huge taxes will have certain benefits, but there will be some negative consequences as well. A Collection of huge tax from respective car owners will produce positive results in many ways. Firstly, it will discourage many people from buying cars. In many families, it is not uncommon for each individual to have their own cars. The heavy tax will discourage prevent such practices to a great extent. Secondly, when private vehicles are taxed heavily, it will lead to an increase in the usage of public transport like buses and trains. When there are fewer vehicles on the roads, traffic jams will reduce to a great extent. Also, the air quality will improve. The Last but not least, the funds raised from these new implementations can be used not only for improving public transport but also for developing roads and safety measures. On the contrary, this move is unlikely to affect rich people who own most of the cars. They will continue to buy as many cars as they want. At the same time, the increase in tax will make the car un-affordable to the middle class and lower middle class families. Also, the reduction in car sales will hurt the automobile industry, which employs tens of thousands of people. To conclude, imposing heavy taxes on private vehicles will certainly reduce the number of cars on the roads and improve the traffic situation to some extent. However, this move has its downsides which cannot be ignored.