Some people think that planting trees in open space in cities and towns is more important than building houses.

Green space is currently one of the most popular trends in the world. The idea of planting more trees in urban area instead of building more houses, therefore, has become a new social issue. To me, I totally agree that planting more trees in open space in urban areas should receive the top priority. The following paragraphs will provide some cases and examples to support my point of view. Planting more trees in cities and towns has brought about more benefits both to the places and the people than may be expected. Let’s take a case of pollution. In big cities, like New York, London, and Paris, for example, both the pollution levels and standards have been getting worse, taking a toll on people’s physical and mental health. Part of this serious problem results from a growing number of new buildings. Green spaces have been drastically reduced. Not enough trees to work as the lunges of the cities; not enough natural filters to purify the air so as to make a clean and safe environment. According to some research, it has been reported that the green color of trees can surprisingly ease people’s minds and relieve stress. That is why people are planting more trees in South Korea where the high rates of suicide and depression have become a social issue awhile. On the other hand, some people, especially yuppies, are much worried about their places of residence in big cities and towns where living spaces are very limited, and with exorbitant prices. Hence, the more spaces devoted to housing, the better opportunity for these people. However, with fewer trees and more houses, city dwellers might be facing a new, unexpected challenge–the aesthetic value. Who wants to live in a grand residence or a luxurious condominium surrounded by concrete spaces and skyscrapers? No more trees, no more green spaces, no more aesthetic value, no values in housing estates. City dwellers one day will leave this town and look for a new town that is lush with trees to be their new places of residence--the places with beautiful scenery. To conclude, even though there are both pros and cons to this debatable issue, I am still inclined to favor planting more trees instead of building more houses to help facilitate people. With problems and cases mentioned earlier, I do believe that creating an environmentally-friendlier place of residence should receive the first priority.