First impressions are important. some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing a good job.

An interview is the one of the most important parts of recruiting process. Therefore, it is believed that impressing interviewer at the first time is the key success to get a wanted job. I partly agree with the aforementioned idea. Even though first impression is vital, other qualities are also play an integral role in securing a desired position. Some people might hold the view that first impression is the first filter of the evaluator, before going through other information given. Given that appearance, outfit, manner, and facial expressions can indicate candidate’s potential as an employee. Furthermore, first impression is easy to identify and takes less effort in evaluation compared to other methods. What is more, the way candidate represents themselves with stranger can simply illustrate how they are going to present themselves and the company in front of clients or partners after they have secured the job. For example, this quality is a fundamental skill that sales person should process in order to impress their customers at the first time. On the other hand, some of personality traits that are essential for working cannot predict within 10 minutes interview. For instance, people skill, tolerance to pressure, and responsibility, these soft skills, cannot be judge in short amount of time. Moreover, human resource unit has to evaluate every applicant fairly by bringing other components on the table to justify whether which one of candidates is perfectly match the job’s requirements. For example, educational backgrounds, recommendation from previous supervisor, and working performance. To conclude, even though first impression could lead to success in interview process. I, personally, think that other soft and hard skills are required in order to successfully secure the job.