Some people think that paying tax is their only duty while others believe that we have more responsibilities towards society.

While it is believed by some that citizens are only responsible for tax payment, others argue that they are supposed to do more for their societies. In my opinion, I believe that people are responsible for way more than just paying taxes. On the one hand, some people argue that paying tax is the only duty citizens have for many reasons. Firstly, taxes help governments with funding crucial services such as, health care, education, and social security. For instance, many countries that charge high taxes provide free education to its citizens. Secondly, money from taxes is also spent on developing public transports, highways, railroads, and other facilities that make life easier and more convenient for individuals. Countries that do not charge taxes, like many underdeveloped countries, do not offer comfortable city life for its citizens, therefore, the importance of paying taxes. On the other hand, it is believed by others that people are obliged to do more than just pay taxes, and I agree. As humans, we cannot live alone, therefore, we are supposed to help other people in our society in order for countries to prosper and societies to be harmonious. If citizens were selfish and apathetic towards each other, there would be no chance for cooperation and as a result, societies would become fragmented and toxic. Furthermore, people ought to be aware of the environmental issues around them because awareness promotes action which, consequently, leads to change. In other words, if people feel responsible for the environment, they would adapt environmentally friendly lifestyles such as, walking or cycling instead of using cars, eliminating plastics, and planting more trees. In conclusion, despite people having different perspectives, I think that citizens have many responsibilities others than paying taxes including helping each other and caring for the environment.