some people think that parents should teach chidren how to be a good member of society. others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

In the recent decades, national and local authorities fail to introduce the restrictions on planning, therefore more and more people could design their houses in their own ways. Both advantages and disadvantages of this trend will be discussed in this essay. There are several benefits of this trend. First, since fewer planning regulations are introduced, it is easy for property developers to speculate on increasing housing stock, leading to the unexpected benefits of the low income and unemployed people. This means that they would have a variety of kinds of house with different cost-effective price to consider and there would be fewer people have to live on the street or in slum areas. Second, without controls on provisions of office buildings, a number of companies would have more space to locate in a particular city, which can create more job opportunities for local residents. Therefore, unemployment- one of serious problems in a modern society would be diminished in the future. However, this trend is not without drawbacks. First, if there is little or no control on planning, urban sprawl could lead to an undesirable feature of many modern societies. In many big cities in the US, for example, the Co-existence between sprawling suburbs and slum areas in the inner city areas has caused controversy, which can diminish the quality of life in the long run. In addition, a city will become an eyesore when people put buildings in any designs they want. In fact, high-rise buildings, constructed next to famous landmarks, could completely overshadow them. In conclusion, although this problem is not without advantages, the downsides are more significant. National and local authorities should take both pros and cons into account to find feasible solutions to tackle this.