Some people think that parents have a powerful influence in a child’s life, while the influence from outside the home plays a bigger part in a child’s development.

Although dressing is one of the most personal decisions of each person, yet many people judge the background of others based on their dress. In this essay, I will state the reasons why I believe that such judgment is justified. First of all, I completely disagree with the notion advanced by some that the choice of clothing does not represent the culture of the wearer. I hold this opinion because the people who say the style is a personal preference do not consider the circumstances which have led to such preference. To illustrate this point, I find apt to include my personal experience with a village man. I once met a poor man who came from a remote, conservative area of Pakistan. I wanted to gift him some clothes, so I being a city dweller offered him a pair of jeans. To my surprise, he shyly refused the present and said that he cannot wear it as he feels shy in wearing those skin-tight clothes compared to his traditional flowy attire. This made me realize that a dress not only acts as a visual embellishment of the body but is also representative of the values of the wearer. Secondly, people say that while the above observation may be true for traditional dresses, its effect is greatly lowered in professional settings where people dress for the office environment. Here, too, I express my disagreement with this argument on the ground that saves the uniformed forces, all other jobs allow for some kind of personalization. For instance, people cloaked in typical business attire can still manifest their internal feelings by wearing a certain colored tie or socks. Moreover, many people always wear jewelry for religious reasons. All these modifications to the otherwise typical and unoriginal dresses are usually sufficient to tell about a person’s culture and background. In conclusion, it is evident from the points discussed above that clothes say a lot about the wearer. It is not difficult to make accurate guesses about a person’s character or culture by having a good look at his overall appearance