Some people think that only the best students should be rewarded. Others, however, it is more important to reward student who show improvements.

Student rewards are the most common way to honour outstanding students; therefore, some people claim that only top students should be awarded. However, some people approve that it is better to award students who have their academic results improved. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and state my opinion. To begin with, there are various points which support awarding students who have gained their results. Firstly, many students show continuous efforts to go beyond their limitations in studying; it is possible that some students have obstacles during their studying semesters, such as financial status or health problems; therefore, they are deserved a prize for their significant efforts. Secondly, it motivates students who do not have an excellent learning capacity trying harder to achieve higher grades. However, there are many reasons why only top students should be awarded. School’s examinations are the basic method but effective to evaluate students’ efforts and ability; it is evident that only students who try them best will achieve high grades in the exams; therefore, top students are the most appropriate to be rewarded. Besides that, it not only encourages other students to study harder to get the prize but also creates a competitive learning environment, which is now the global tendency thanks to its positive effects on students’ results. In conclusion, both forms of awarding have its own advantages. Thus, from my perspective, I support to reward both groups of students as a prize for their efforts. However, it should be a discrimination between two forms to promote its values appropriately.