Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements.

While many people are of the opinion that students who obtain outstanding academic results should be rewarded, another view shared by others is that those who endeavor to study and make great progress also deserve a reward as a form of encouragement. From my own perspective, it is my opinion that they all deserve the incentives from their places of learning. There are certain reasons for me and other people to share the opinion that awards should be given to top students. This reward system could create a highly competitive studying environment at school seeing that students often desire to win the prizes. The underlying explanation for this is that in the view of the narrow gap between them and straight A ones, these potential school children would have strong grounds to put greater effort into their study in the belief that they could be among the most excellent students in the foreseeable future, thereby receiving awards. For example, some universities usually publish their academic results in recognitions of top learners’ outstanding academic performance and offer them rewards, as well as the considerable effort put into studying by these students. This would eventually spur some students who are close to the top tier to study harder. However, I also believe that giving encouragement to those who make strides in their study results in more favorable outcomes. The reason is that this could give them a sense of equality. In other words, they could also stand a chance of getting a reward provided that they do make progress. By adopting this approach, the pupils who make academic improvements would feel that they’re on attempts also receiving recognition from their schools, thereby making more efforts to improve their studies. If school places sloe emphasis on academically excellent students and become oblivious to them, these learners would form the idea that rewards just find their own way to top students and that that fail to deserve any form of incentives form their learning places. Accordingly, this would demotivate them and they, therefore, become negligent in their study. In conclusion, in spite of various opinions about this, I still take the view that A level students, as well as, those who achieve significant progress in their academic results, are all worthy of encouragement from their educational institutions.