Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles.

There are several threats to living in our environment. This has led to some individuals to say that increasing the price of fuel for cars and other vehicles like trucks or buses, is the most effective method to solve many of the environmental problems. I completely agree with this view. The reasons for my opinion will be discussed below. To start with, some people do not believe that increasing the charge on the fuel used by motor vehicles is an appropriate way to combat the challenges we face in our surrounding. Their major reason is that this approach will make life unbearable for the poor who perceive it as the cheapest mode of transportation. Similarly, only the rich could afford to buy or use the expensive alternatives for travel. For example, most income earners in developing nations such as Nigeria, commute by car or by bus. So any plan to increase the fuel price will restrcit their travel experience. However, I disagree with this view as it does not consider the damaging effect it has on the environment in the long run. Admittedly, there are basic reasons why I believe that a hike in the price of fuel for automobiles will go a long way to solve many of the problems we encounter in our environment. Firstly, it will reduce the number of such vehicles on our road. Consequently, there will be less pollution in the atmosphere as the amount of carbon monoxide, which is the major threat to life, released into the air is greatly minimised. Additionally, commuters will no longer experience traffic congestion. Secondly, it will promote the invention of vehicles that use other energy sources such as electricity or solar energy which are environmentally friendly. For instance, most people in developed countries like China, use electric cars and encourage the use of bicycles for short distance travel. This has helped to reduce climate change in their environment. In conclusion, I agree that a rise in the cost of fuel for cars or buses will discourage its use and encourage people to seek better alternatives. This is the best approach that should be adopted to deal with the difficulties in our environment.