Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles.

Raise in population has led to increase in the usage of vehicles and environmental problems. A number of people think that, by increasing the price of fuel, problems associated with the environment can be solved. In my opinion, I agree with this view, and believe it is one of the best ways to solve majority of the environmental issues. Firstly, poisonous gases that are depleting the ozone layer, responsible for protecting harmful sunlight that warms up the earth, such as carbon-di-oxide and nitrogen is emitted by fuel burnt in the cars. Moreover, by increasing the cost of fuel, people will opt for public or other transportation services, resulting in decrease of vehicles and the emission of gases. For an instance, several developed countries have imposed higher taxes on petrol and diesel, resulting in reduction of carbon-di-oxide gas by 8% year over year. Secondly, extensive use of natural resources required in manufacturing domestic cars and trucks, caused deforestation, affecting rainfall and irregularity in climatic conditions. However, the hike in price of fuel will tend to reduce the amount of cars being purchased and increase recycling of resources. To illustrate, in India by reducing the production of cars has led to restoration of natural rainfall and overcoming several environmental issues. Government officials should come up with appropriate regulations and support for alternative mode of transportation. To sum up, raising the fuel prices will reduce the amount of unnecessary gases released into the atmosphere, and enforces the appropriate use of natural resources. Hence this might be one of the best ways in controlling environmental issues.