Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles.

It is truly said that because mankind has destroyed the environment, the environment is now destroying mankind in numerous ways like the global warming, tsunami, black hole and other natural calamities. Some people suggest that one of the optimal ways to solve these problems is by increasing the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. While I agree that it would be helpful to a certain extent, but I strongly disagree that it might be the most appropriate way to protect and conserve the surroundings. The essay evaluates the reasons for disagreement. Many people are of the opinion that price rise of fuel for vehicles would refrain majority of the population from using private transport, thereby reducing the poisonous emissions of carbon monoxide and harming the environment. It would encourage the purpose of public transport or bikes for that matter, since it is a cheaper option. However the above is a form of inflation, by which the rich would become richer and the poor would become poorer. Instead of a price hike, wouldn't it be better if communities are educated? If the value of fuels reduces out of realization and not inflation? By enhancing the awareness in the society, people would utilise trains and bikes, moreover view the positives of using electric cars. If they are knowledgeable about the poisonous emissions of gases, which not only cause harm to human health in the form of respiratory diseases, but also to the nature due to depletion of the ozone layer, the use of fuel-based vehicles, I believe would greatly reduce. This environmental awareness needs to be raised amongst small villages, as well as huge cities, whereby servicing of vehicles happens at regular intervals and the engines are repaired well to not release smoke. Therefore I feel that a price raise would just be a temporary solution for the environmental issues caused by fuels. On the other hand the spread of knowledge and literacy would go miles in inculcating a sense of responsibility amongst the people. It would encourage the use of transportation that use minimum or no fuel at all, positively impacting the climate as well as the economy of the nation.