Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles.

Deteriorating environmental conditions is one the biggest issues the world is facing today and one of the prime factors contributing to this is the rampant increase in the number of motor vehicles. Certain demographics of the society opine that in order to curb this issue the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles must be increased significantly. I am an advocate for the aforementioned suggestion. To begin with, environmental pollutions and the rate of climate change dramatically rose over the last several decades, this can be directly correlated to the increase in the number of motor vehicles worldwide. It can be acknowledged that in recent years people seldom use public transport to commute from one place to another, rather each family owns more than one private car, owing to the affordability of petrol. Rising the cost of fuels is one of the most efficient ways to tackle this issue. People will be compelled to use public transport like buses and trains, reducing the amount of overall emission of harmful gases into the atmosphere. Furthermore, an inflation in the price of fuels will encourage people to use pollution free means of transport. One such example involves the use of bicycles to travel small distances. In several countries people already started using bicycles to travel from one place to another as it is both cost effective and eco-friendly. In conclusion, motor cars and vehicles are causing a detrimental impact towards the world we live in. It is a moral responsibility of the government to address this matter promptly before the damages become irreversible. In my opinion, a surge in the price of fuels is completely justified to discourage the population against the prevalent use of motor vehicles.