Some believe that more academic subjects, such as chemistry, physics and history, should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking.

Some people insist / opine that the school curriculum should give more importance to academic subjects like history or physics, while others argue that the emphasis should be on imparting practical skills. In my opinion, subjects such as science, mathematics and history prepare children for a brighter future and hence they should be given more importance. On the one hand, there is ample evidence to prove that children are interested in practical skills. To begin with, these skills may help them make a little amount of money to fulfil their small needs and wishes. Furthermore, learning practical skills such as cooking, or carpentry is fun because the output can be seen and appreciated almost instantly. For example, in a recent survey done by the sophomores of Florida University, 65% of parents of school going children admitted that their young kids enjoy learning practical skills more than academic subjects. However, learning, academic subjects will lead to better career prospects in the future. On the other hand, during the past decade, job market surveys emphasized the importance of having professional skills. Firstly, scientists and technologists are paid far better than the people doing lower level jobs. In other words, this means that well educated people live more comfortable lives than those who lack it. Secondly, there is a huge demand for professionals in all fields in comparison to the saturated market of blue collar jobs and workers. It goes without saying that if children are encouraged to pursue academic subjects with more interest than they will witness a brighter future. To conclude, practical skills may interest children in their initial stage of life, but to have better opportunities and happiness in life they will need to master academic subjects.