Many people are spending a lot of money on their weddings. Do you think this is a good thing?

Marriage is an important event in a person’s life, so everyone wants to make it memorable. The trend of the expensive marriage ceremony is burgeoning in our society; however, I believe that this is a preposterous thing because this phenomenon results in a waste of hard-earned money, and raises many social issues in society. To embark with, people work hard to make both ends meet by doing an odd job, along with a full-time job to save money for their wedding ceremony. Therefore, this money spends on orchestra, firework and, high-class food to make the event attractive for the audience. However, the gratification of the audience is futile for themselves, instead, this money could be spared for their future such as child health care, education. For example, a recent survey report published in the Daily Times revealed that 40% of couples after marriage run in debt and they have to borrow money from their parents and friends for their medical, and other basic expenses. What is more, expensive weddings develop a sense of inferiority in people who cannot afford to arrange a lavish event. While in peer pressure, they want to show off their kith and kin, people borrow a hefty amount to pay wedding bills. As a result, become bank defaulter, adding stress and frustration to their lives which has a horrifying effect on society such as broken marriages. For example, the United Nations’ annual report stated that 5% of the suicide case in all over the world revealed that failure to pay back the cash which was borrowed leads them to take this extreme step. To conclude, people are augmenting their wedding expenses to make it worth remembering; however, this essay argued that it is bad for society and individuals such as becoming penny-less after the event, adding up psychological pressure.