Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

For some time now, growing traffic and ever so increasing pollution because of it has been a terrible issue to deal with. While increasing the price of fuel is surely one way to curb the problem, there are some other effective solutions to deal with it including imposing fines and allowing only the CNG operated vehicles to ply. This essay will discuss why I completely agree with the idea of raising the petrol prices to reduce the problems of traffic and pollution. An increment in the fuel prices will surely keep a check on the ever so growing traffic. Raising the petroleum prices would surely mean that there would be decline in the sales of motor vehicles, thereby reducing the amount of traffic and therefore, less release of pollution in the atmosphere which otherwise, pose a serious threat to the health of the citizens. For instance, in France, the government authorities there have increased the fuel prices by around 15 percent to deal with the raging traffic problem and to their peoples' delight, a significant reduction in the traffic has been observed in comparison to the past ten years' data. So, it is a compelling reason why increasing the fuel prices can be a definite way to curb the issue of traffic and pollution. On the contrary, there can be some other ways to deal with the difficulty of traffic and pollution. Firstly, imposing heavy fines on the vehicles not having a valid pollution certificate would certainly persuade the vehicle owners to give a serious thought to get the same done. For example, in China, that has seen a huge spike in the amount of traffic and a big increase in the pollution levels, has recently passed a law to levy a hefty fine of thousand YEN on the offenders of riding non-pollution certfied vehicles on roads. Therefore, these measures can surely be considered when it comes to curbing traffic and pollution levels. This essay argued why I completely agree with the idea of raising the fuel prices to put a restraint on the increasing levels of traffic and smoke. Notwithstanding this, there can be some other ways to deal with the issue.