Some people think that not all criminals should be kept in prison. Some criminals should do unpaid work to help other people in the community.

Some would argue that not every offender should be kept behind bars, and they should allow to engage with some voluntary work to help fellow people in the society. This essay completely agrees with this because criminals are a possible threat to other people in the community, and prison provides appropriate rehabilitation for prisoners during their term. Allowing perpetrators to do unpaid community works could be dangerous to the general public. By the name of unpaid work offenders would have a chance to freely roam around the street, and they would not hesitate to harm others for own benefits. Therefore, criminals should be kept in detention rather than giving a chance to work in the society. For example, a recent survey conducted by some renowned psychologists in the UK proved that lawbreakers have a tendency to recommit an offence at any time because they had been exposed to such situations and the chances are 52% higher than others. During the period of prison sentences, the perpetrators receive proper guidance and rehabilitation services in order to reintegrate into the society. That is to say, many prisons provide psychological as well as social rehabilitation practices inside the jail, while this would lack when they work for the society. Hence, this allows people to achieve proper employment upon release and this would deter them from recommitting the offences. For instance, a recent survey conducted by the BBC revealed that proper rehabilitation practices during the terms in prison showed a 34% decrease among criminals to do the similar crime once they released. In conclusion, all criminals should be kept in captivity and not allowed to work in the society because they could cause potential dangers to the public and prison teaches various real-life skills so that they can successfully inhabited in the community.