Some people think that not all criminals should be kept in prison. Some criminals should do unpaid work to help other people in the community.

Nowadays, the number of crimes all over the world is on the increase and most sociologists regard this a result of unemployment, poverty and lack of education. While a group of people argue that offenders should be punished by going to jails, I believe that doing unsalaried work in the community would be more beneficial for the people, prisons and the criminals. There are a variety of reasons why I would argue that doing unpaid work in the local community would be a positive scheme. Firstly, governments would not suffer from the expeditions that prisoners and prisons bring about. Secondly, rehabilitation programs help offenders to learn some vocational training that are useful in their future life. Finally, other offenders who are at prisons may have an adverse effect on them which will encourage offenders to commit more crimes. Furthermore, jail punishment is not a deterring act against crime and it would not diminish the violence and criminal acts in society. A salient example of this is USA that could decrease the crime statistics up to 30% by educating criminals and teaching them vocational training which lead to better job opportunities for the criminals. Although they had criminal records which makes finding a job more difficult, they could obtain a satisfactory job. On the other hand, most of the criminals re offend after releasing from prison into society and they usually break the law in order to making a living since they have no experience at works. Furthermore, rehabilitation programs would benefit the society and criminals. They can do some community work in their neighborhood such as talking to schools or cleaning the streets. As a result, the students who dropped out of schools or those who are under peer pressure would be less likely to become delinquent. TO support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that rehabilitation programs make awareness among juveniles, parents and the offenders and this programs could stop the fast raise in criminal records. In conclusion, although prisons play a central role in punishment and are appropriate places for those who committed sever crimes such as killing, the role of community services in training offenders should not be neglected. I assert that all humans have the ability to turn into good, positive people who are beneficial for their society and family.