Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own styles.

People have different views about how new houses should be built. While some argue that new homes in the locality should follow the traditional styles, I would believe that people should be free to design their houses in the way they prefer. On the one hand, there are several reasons why people suppose that houses should be built in the traditional architecture. Firstly, this trend would help preserve traditional and cultural values that might boost the local tourism. For example, Hoi An, which is one of the most ancient cities in Vietnam, has become a tourist destination that attracts millions of visitors on an annual basis. Secondly, new houses that follow the style of others in the local area could make residents have a sense of equality. By asking people to build their homes that match other houses, government can stop the display of wealth. On the other hand, I would maintain that people have rights to decide how to build their houses. The reason is that a house is the reflection of the owner’s personality. Therefore, every house owner should be allowed to decide whatever design they like. Another factor needs taking into account is the cost. There is no doubt that it is much cheaper to build a house in the modern style than the ones mirror past architectural standards. In conclusion, although building houses in the traditional architecture have many benefits, I personally believe it is better that people are allowed to build their house with their favorite design.