The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children's health.

When discussing the possible causes of pediatric obesity, one should bear in mind the complexity of the issue. Some people believe that the main problem leading to obesity is the rapidly growing number of fast food restaurants, which provides an unhealthy but cheap meal. Others, including myself, think that parents carry the main responsibility to this growing epidemic. In the following essay, I will provide arguments and examples to support my opinion. Parental responsibilty as educators is, in my opinion, a major cause in children's overweight problem. Parents should educate their children, from an early age, about the fundamental components of food such as carbohydrates, proteins and fats. Furthermore, kids should be taught about the importance of a balanced diet and to avoid foods rich with sugar and fat, like sweat beverages and red meat. According to the New York Times, for example, there is a linear relationship between childrens overweight and parental presence in the child's education. This shows that parents have a cricual role in obesity among children. Another reason explaining why parents are responsible for peaditric obesity is that in developed countires adults are forced to spend many hours working. As a result, parents cook less in comparison to other countries, and the children are forced to rely on fast food. A family, for example, where both parents work 8 hours a day, will not be able to provide a hot and healthy meal for their children when they come back from school. Consequently, these children will likely order food from a near by fast food restaurant. This demonstrates that parental presence have a valuable role in their children's diet, and without it their chances of overweight might increase. In conclusion, I beleive that parents have an important role in educating children about the importance of a correct diet, and in providing them a nutritional meal rather than fast food. We should take care of our childrens life.