Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as the older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say local authorities should allow people to build houses in the style of their own choice.

People have various opinions about whether they have to construct new houses in accordance with the traditional pattern or not. Some people believe that it should be in conformity with the previous style, whereas others insist that individual design should be allowed by the local government. I contend that a harmonious combination of both approaches can bring forth a better result. On the one hand, some people are more in favour of building new homes that are compatible with the existing architecture of the locality. The primary reason for this is that they want to conserve the traditional cultures inherited through architectures in the community. Many societies have been fascinated by western living conditions and they have become unfamiliar with their traditional living conditions. Thus, some societies voice their opinions to conserve their own culture. To illustrate, there is a Korea traditional village in Jenoju, Korea. In this village, all the residences have been constructed in their traditional style. It has gained a tremendous popularity among the public based on its traditional houses and has become a tourist attraction. Thus, it is economically beneficial as well. On the other hand, others highlight the importance of giving individuals the freedom to construct their house according to their desire and the support of the government. People have the right to improve their living environment including their own house and the government should respect individual rights related to their property. Even if a distinct is designated as part of heritage sites, individuals’ freedom and rights should be protected. Otherwise, people will not want to reside in those areas and they would become desolate. It would lead to economic downturn in the areas. In conclusion, when it comes to constructing new houses, some people emphasize its harmony with the traditional style, whereas others put more emphasis on individual choices. I opine that if the government puts forward regulations to maintain the traditional style on the outer appearance and allow modern living conditions inside of houses, it can make a more desirable result for both sides.