Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as the older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say local authorities should allow people to build houses in the style of their own choice.

In recent times, a lot of discussion is going on regarding the design of houses. While some argue that they should be built in the same style as other older houses in the area, another set argue that the discision should be left to the owners. I totally agree on the latter side of the argument. One the one hand, some people argue that all homes in a locality should look like the same and hence any new construction should be of the same pattern as the existing ones. Although they belong to the current generation, they still want to keep an order in eveything. In a way, what they need is to have an equality between individuals so that every house, be it belongs to a poor or rich man, will look the same. Also, they dont want someone to feel bad seeing the palacious living of someone who is rich. Besides, they feel people who built their place long back should not feel bad for their old designs. For instance, all flats in Singapore are of the same pattern and majoroty of villas also follow this. On the other hand, another set of people believe that every citizen should have the right to choose and decide how their dream home ought to be and I completely agree on this. Even though it might affect the sentiments of a certain section of the society, it is totall unfair on the authorities part to force someone to live in an environment which they do not prefer. For example, a fairly rich person, who has earned the money planning to have a personal space according to his wish, should not be allowed not to follow his mind only to make others happy. Besides, majority have the capacity to built only one home and they should be allowed to fullfill and satisfy their ideas, where they have to stay rest of their lives. To conclude, each person has their own rights and no one should be forced to follow rules and regulations which are baseless and inappropriate. In my opinion, even if constructing buildings in same pattern is acceptable, it should not be made a mandate, there by forcing people to follow this in a strict manner.