Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style.

People have different opinions as to whether the architectural design of newly built houses should follow the same style of existing homes or follow their personal style preference. Personally, I believe that they should have permission to choose their own style. The option to construct all alike buildings in a vicinity is beneficial for many reasons. In many countries, traditional thinking dictates that a house is a reflection of the wealth or social status of its owner. As a result, the owners of less attractive and less modern houses would feel inferior and less engaged in conversational exchanges with their neighbors. It is clear that this unfortunate problem is likely to cause social isolation and an overall decrease in life satisfaction in the long term. On a government level, since all buildings share a common design, the task of supervising the process of construction becomes easier and more manageable, ensuring these buildings satisfy construction safety requirements. However, I believe that the aesthetic design of unique buildings has far more positive impacts on the psychology of humans and the towns as a whole. Living in a modern and dynamic environment which is usually associated with security and comfort is thought to boost our emotional wellbeing. Research has shown the correlation between poorly-designed buildings and the risk of health deterioration and academic underachievement. On a larger scale, the vivid image of a town with a unique style provides inspiration for foreign tourists to come to visit the town, which is conducive to the development of tourism and culture. In conclusion, I concur with the idea that the resultant impact on culture and tourism and psychological benefits of building unique houses are no doubt worth consideration, although ensuring an identical design of all buildings in a particular area brings some benefits.