Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable.

Technology has made rapid progress in the past decade. It has changed the way people communicate with each other. It has made lives easier yet taken out the aspect of physical presence which was essential to communicate with another person in the past. Technology has opened up new avenues in the way we communicate with another person situated anywhere on the globe. It has enabled us to connect and share information with people irrespective of their location. This advancement in technology makes it easier for us to find and befriend like-minded people. Each new method that is developed also gives us the option to choose the level of intimacy and frequency of our communication with another person. In my opinion, this growth can make people feel socially active and more willing to engage in conversation with new people. On the other hand, technology takes away the physical aspect of communication. This limitation can make people feel an absence of the human touch and can take away from the clarity of a message. Communicating through messaging or phone can only go as far as getting the words across. We human beings are social animals and need to connect with other beings in their physical form in order to feel a deep connection. One always has the option to ignore social interactions online, but it's harder to do that in real life. I feel that technology doesn’t allow to build deep connections because of the above limitations. To summarize, technology can be used to build new connections at one’s own comfort and pace, but it's limitations does not allow for deep lifelong relationships to blossom.