Some people believe that governments should pay for healthcare and education, but others disagree with this opinion.

There is always a fierce debate when it comes to whether the government should responsible for the expenditure of healthcare and education. Some people firmly believe that it is the government’s duty, whereas others argue with opposite the opinion. In this essay, Advocates of this statement based on both the personal and broader social level. To begin with, on an individual level, everyone has the right to healthcare and education. In other words, the access to health and education is not the privilege belonging to the wealthy. Then from the social viewpoint, it is no denying that it would be a considerable amount of money for individual to pay the healthcare and education, which would make the heavier burden especially for the poor. Namely, if it could be funded by the governments, it certainly could promote the equality between the rich and poor. On the other hand, some dispute that this policy should be under the thoughtful consideration as there are several drawbacks. To begin with, there is not an unlimited budget for the governments, especially there still are so many practical problems crying for a solution such as environmental contamination and economic development. As a result, free healthcare and education definitely do require long term commitments and tremendous running expenses, and further cut down the budget on other issues. Moreover, the most direct benefited group of this policy is the individuals, therefore people should also require to pay for it. In conclusion, I believe that it is the responsibility of the authorities to cover a part of the expense of healthcare and education, whereas people should also shoulder the responsibility for it.